Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

This morning, my sisters and I (all 5 of us) prepared a fabulous Mother’s Day Brunch for my mom, complete with freshly squeezed juices, steel cut oatmeal with an array of toppings, scrambled eggs with cream cheese and chives, and homemade biscuits with sorghum butter.  Only the best would do for our leading lady!  I know everyone claims their mom to be the best mom, but I know mine takes the cake.  My mom is the most selfless, loving, and empathetic person that I have ever encountered.  Our celebration today, as well as this post, are tribute to my mom — the best mom in the world!

Buttermilk Biscuits – Bon Appetit (Courtesy of Dot’s Diner)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425°F. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda in large bowl to blend. Using fingertips, rub 3/4 cup chilled butter into dry ingredients until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add buttermilk and stir until evenly moistened. Using 1/4 cup dough for each biscuit, drop biscuits onto baking sheet, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake until biscuits are golden brown on top, about 15 minutes. Cool slightly. Serve warm.

Sorghum Butter:

Blend 1 stick of unsalted butter and 2 tablespoons of sorghum butter.

Tags: , , , ,

