Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

I spent the last few weeks of my freshman year of college highly caffeinated; late-night studying required coffee, as did waking up for early classes.  With my finals behind me, I vowed not to drink any coffee over the summer…but I didn’t say anything about eating.  To satisfy my love of coffee, without totally cheating, I settled on this recipe.  I am proud to say, as an avid coffee drinker, that this pudding did not disappoint!  Everyone in my family LOVED the pudding, but the whipped cream stole the show; such a simple addition of espresso powder made all the difference in the transformation of this dessert staple.

Chocolate-Espresso Puddings with Espresso Whipped Cream – Bon Appetit Desserts

Makes 6

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 4 teaspoons instant espresso powder or instant coffee powder, divided
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup chilled heavy whipping cream

Whisk 4 tablespoons sugar, cornstarch, and 3 tablespoons espresso powder in heavy medium saucepan until no lumps remain.  Gradually whisk in milk.  Whisk over medium heat until mixture thickens and boils, 3 to 4 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Add chocolate chips, butter, and vanilla and whisk until smooth.  Divide pudding among 6 small ramekins or goblets.  Cover and chill until cold, at least 2 hours and up to 1 day.

Using electric mixer, beat cream, remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, and remaining 1 teaspoon espresso powder in medium bowl until peaks form.  Top each pudding with dollop of espresso whipped cream.

Tags: , , , ,

