Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

I don’t know about you, readers of BHTB, but when I think of banana bread, all I think about it is my grandma’s “famous” banana bread, and how wholly “un-hip” it was.  Usually nesting atop a lace doily or two, shaped by a bundt pan that she probably received decades ago as a wedding gift, the cake was undoubtedly tasty, but seriously lacked the modern flair for which I was searching.  So, readers, look no further;  both vegan and refined-sugar-free, this banana bread is just as delicious as the traditional favorite that you grew up eating, but can be consumed with a clear conscience — totally hip if you ask me.  I found this recipe on Alicia Silverstone’s blog, The Kind Life (new favorite!), and am so glad Silverstone recommended it!

MAPLE SYRUP BANANA BREAD – Katie B, via The Kind Life

INGREDIENTS
1 cup 100% pure Maple syrup
1/2 cup Earth Balance butter spread
Egg substitute for 2 eggs (2 tablespoons ground flax seed and 6 tablespoons of water, mixed)
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
3-4 very ripe bananas, smashed
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
Chopped nuts (as many as you like)
Raisins (as many as you like) – I omitted both!

Directions
Mix ingredients in a bowl in the order given.
Pour into a greased loaf pan.
Bake at 350 degrees F for 50-60 minutes. (Watch carefully!  Mine didn’t need the whole time.)

Tags: , , , ,

