Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

I only made one of the desserts for last night (coming soon!!) because my mom feared I would be too busy with school work to make them all as I have done in the past.  So, after we all grimaced at the sight and smell of bakery-bought desserts, I decided I needed to redeem myself.  Today when I woke up, slowly easing out of the food coma that settled in after last night’s dinner, I decided I could bake again.  As per my mom’s request, I made a pumpkin pie.  It was so delicious, and kept our house smelling good for another day :).

~

Gingersnap Pecan Crust – Gourmet Magazine

  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted, plus additional for buttering pie plate
  • Flour for dusting
  • 1 cup finely crushed gingersnap cookies (5 ounces; 20 2-inch cookies)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans (2 ounces), toasted
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  1. Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour pie plate, knocking out excess flour.
  2. Toss together all crust ingredients in a bowl with a fork until crumbs are moistened, then press evenly over bottom and up side of pie plate. Bake crust 6 minutes, then cool on a rack.

Pumpkin Filling – Martha Stewart

  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh Pumpkin Puree, or canned
  • 3 large eggs, lightly beaten, plus 1 egg for glaze
  • 1 1/2 cups evaporated milk
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside. In a large bowl, combine sugar, cornstarch, salt, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, pumpkin puree, and 3 eggs. Beat well. Add evaporated milk, and combine.
  2. Fill pie shell with pumpkin mixture.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and continue baking for 30 minutes more. Cool on a wire rack.
Tags: , ,

