Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

I’m getting my wisdom teeth removed tomorrow (er, today…), and to try to keep myself distracted, and awake (so that I can sleep in before the 2:30 surgery), I thought it would be a good idea to bake.  I had my eye on the caramel cake in Food and Wine Magazine’s most recent issue… I NEEDED to see if it really was the best, as per their claim.  As always, the cake started out wonderfully.  I had all of my ingredients lined up, right alongside the best of intentions.  As to be expected, following in the footsteps of my other endeavors in cake baking, things started to go haywire.  I must have taken a wrong turn somewhere between the caramelized sugar, and the addition of heavy cream while making the icing, because all of a sudden my caramel “icing” totally lost it’s golden hue, and turned into a thickened, pasty brown pile of mush.  As sad as I was to see the frosting go bad, I was equally as determined to make the cake work — this was my biggest mistake.  Since the cake layers turned out as hoped, I could have made a different frosting to save the dessert, but no such luck.  I insisted on piling the icing all. over. the. cake.  Needless to say, when all was said and done, I wound up with a thick stack of pancakes, drenched in syrup (or so it appeared….).  Better luck next time?

FINALLY!!!


