Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

Though I have always been afraid to work with yeast, I decided that at some point in my life, I would need to learn….why not now?  My mom had been asking me to make this one apple bread/cake for a while, so I took the plunge, and baked with yeast.  I can’t say this was my best creation, but it was good.  I think I over-baked it a little, but it’s not really my fault that the juices from the apples overflowed…and got all over the oven…and started smoking so I had to take it out and switch it to the other oven, during baking…and wait for the other oven to preheat so that it could finish…but the timer shut off, so I didn’t actually know for how long that needed to be…Let’s just say that I was faced with more than a few problems.  Needless to say, it was still good.  Just slightly over-baked.  After baking this, I was determined to get the whole “baking with yeast” thing down pat.  Parts two and three to follow…

note: I’m having trouble importing the recipe, so if you want it, you can find it at Confessions of a Tart.

