Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

Because I am the best sister ever, I woke up early this morning (my sister’s birthday) and made breakfast for her.  I think it is pretty safe to say that one of Rachel’s favorite, if not her most favorite, breakfast foods is the Dutch Baby pancake.  I’ve made many Dutch Babies in my time, but I always find a fault with them: too eggy, too soggy, too buttery, etc.  Finally, I found what seemed to be the BEST recipe yet, and it was, but I had a little trouble getting it out of the pan, so please excuse the not-so-prettiness of the pancake.

German Pancakes – Smitten Kitchen 

Yield 2 9-inch pancakes.

4 eggs
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup flour, sifted
2/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons soft butter

Heat oven to 400°F. Butter two 9-inch cake pans well. Put eggs in blender container, cover and process at “stir” until light yellow in color. Push “mix” button, remove cover and add remaining ingredients; process until smooth. Pour into prepared pans and bake 20 minutes; then reduce heat to 350°F and bake 10 minutes. Slide onto hot plates. Serve with lemon slices, powdered sugar and butter.

