Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

(to the tune of oh where has my little dog gone)

 

Oh where, oh where has my camera cord gone?  

Oh where, oh where can it be?

It is long and black, and it’s hard to blog without it.

Oh where, oh where can it be?

 

 Perhaps in the spirit of Halloween, my camera cord has decided to play a trick on me, because I CANNOT, for the life of me, find it.  So, pictures will be posted as soon as I find it, but in the mean time, I believe we have a little “catching up” to do.  I know that I’ve been a little lax in my posting, but thank senior year for that.  I will try to keep the recipes coming more frequently (hopefully more than once every two months).  Please don’t stop reading!

Well, back to this weekend.  I believe I’ve  [temporarily] killed my sweet tooth, if that is at all possible.  (Thank you Halloween!)  During this brief sugar-free respite, I have bravely decided to move beyond my comfort zone and try to make something savory.  Spinach always worked for Popeye, and because I had a lot of work to get done, and many college essays to write this weekend, I needed all of the strength I could get — so, I made a spinach quiche.  

I’m almost embarrassed by how simple the recipe was, but considering that this was one of my first attempts at real cooking,  I appreciated the recipe’s simplicity.  The quiche is from a 1991 Bon Appetit, and it was really delicious.  I made the recipe as is, with the exception of the cheese: it calls for cheddar, but I substituted grueyere, my personal favorite,  for the cheddar.

Ingredients:
1/2 17 1/4-ounce package (1 sheet) frozen puff pastry, thawed
1 3-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup half and half
3 eggs
1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed drained
1/2 cup grated gruyere
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
2 green onions, sliced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
Preparation:

Preheat oven to 425°F. Roll puff pastry to 11-inch square. Transfer to 9-inch diameter glass pie plate. Trim edges. Beat cream cheese in medium bowl until smooth. Gradually beat in half and half and eggs. Mix in remaining ingredients. Pour mixture into prepared crust. Bake until crust is golden brown and filling is set, about 25 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.

 

