Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

By this point, you could say that I was more than a little frustrated; still, I knew that it was my duty, as the self-appointed baker of the family, to make miracles.  While I was “sleeping”, my parents took my sister out for “birthday breakfast”…little did my sister know, I had actually been awake for hours, on an intimate date with my personal cookbook collection (yes, I keep a select few in my bedroom).  The recipe that I decided on was not from one of my beloved cookbooks, but rather from an old issue of Bon Appétit, circa 1997, posted on Epicurious: Lattice-Topped Strawberry-Ruhbarb Pie.  I have to admit, I was extremely intimidated by this recipe…I’d never worked with rhubarb, nor had I  ever dreamed of making a lattice-topped pie crust.  Going with the whole idea of making miracles, I decided to just give it a try…nothing could be worse than my previous epic failure.  So, I ventured off to Plum Market, scouring the produce shelves for rhubarb (I hate to admit that I wasn’t completely sure of what it even looked like), and all of the other necessary ingredients.  I rushed home, whipped it together, end of story…yeah right.  This pie probably wasn’t as hard to make as it seemed while making it, but who knew there wouldn’t be any articles on “trimming” rhubarb…only vague blurbs.  And who knew that the pie crust would nearly fall apart while transferring it to the pie dish?  Bumps along the road aside, the pie turned out beautifully, in my very humble opinion.  It was so delicious, perfect for an early summer evening, and just what the birthday girl had wanted*.

*When we were out to dinner Tuesday night for my sister’s birthday, the waiter listed the dessert choices, strawberry rhubarb pie being one of them.  I didn’t actually know if this was something my sister liked, but thankfully that was the choice that appealed most to her.  We didn’t let her get it.

