Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

I had such good intentions.  I thought long and hard about what to make for my sister’s birthday…I came up with the PERFECT (or so I thought) cake: A Malted Milk Ball Cake (she used to love whoppers when we were younger).  So, I went out during a tornado watch to get the special pans, and the rest of the ingredients that I needed, all the while trying to conceal my plan, as well as my uber-excitement.  And then it began….flop, upon flop.  As soon as I took the golden cakes out of the oven, one of the three layers sunk a little…I didn’t think it was anything to worry about (I was really, really wrong).  While assembling the layers, I noticed that the cake was moving around a little bit.  I wasn’t sure if it was my imagination, or the fact that it was around 12:45 AM; much to my astonishment, neither was the case.  Before my very eyes, I saw my beautiful cake collapse into a mess of milk chocolate ganache frosting and crumbled, malted-milk flavored cake.  Do not fear, however, as I have a few other tricks up my sleeve…or should I say pans in the oven…stay tuned!

