Skip to content

Bringing Home the Bakin'

bake my cake and eat it, too

Sunday night, instead of watching the superbowl, I decided to bake…I couldn’t think of a better way to unwind after a long weekend of solo and ensemble and babysitting.  I had been looking forward to baking a special cake all weekend, but little did I know the pans that I needed were 8-inch pans, and I only had 9-inch pans.  After a previous fiasco caused by using the wrong size cake pan, I decided that I had better not test my luck.  Instead, I decided to do what I had been longing to do for years (since I finally had my mother’s approval…thanks mommy!) – bake without a recipe.  I know, I know…baking is a science!  I’ve been told so by my chemistry teacher, by my mother, and I have even read it in cookbooks, but regardless, I was determined to create my own recipe.  I suppose I didn’t exactly create my own recipe, rather I baked without a recipe, relying on my previous encounters with the chocolate chip cookie to guide me.  This recipe is likely a combination of a multitude of chocolate chip cookie recipes:  Tate’s Bakeshop’s cookie, Baked’s cookie, Tyler Florence’s cookie, etc., plus a few additions (and substitutions) of my own.  I just followed my instincts and the result was a crispy, delightfully sweet, and slightly salty cookie.

Katharine’s Chocolate Chip Cookies:

Ingredients – 

2 sticks of unsalted butter

1.5 teaspoons of salt

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut

2 cups of flour

1 cup of light brown sugar

1/2 cup of granulated sugar

1 3/4 cup of chocolate chunks (60-70% cocoa content, I used Guittard) 

1/4 cup white chocolate chunks (I used Callebaut)

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon of baking soda

preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  line two baking sheets with parchement paper.

put flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.  mix and set aside.

cream butter and sugars in bowl of electric mixer.  add eggs one at a time.  mix until incorporated.  mix in vanilla.  

add dry ingredients in two shifts.  mix until incorporated.

mix in coconut and chocolates (by hand).

scoop by ice cream scooper (filled with approximately 2 tablespoons dough) with release handle onto cookie sheets.  

bake for 12-14 minutes, until edges are slightly browned.  

remove from oven.  after a few minutes, transfer to wire rack and let cool.

ENJOY!!